Advocacy Updates

Latest Advocacy News

November 9, 2022

AATC, TAA, and NAA PACs endorsed candidates won 35 of 37 (95%) races in Tarrant County in yesterday’s general elections.  

A couple of key take aways from yesterday’s elections that impact AATC members:

  1.  While control of the US Senate is yet to be determined, on a local level, Republican candidates reasserted their dominance in Tarrant County.
  2. AATC member Republican state representatives Stephanie Klick (unopposed) & Craig Goldman (58%)  won.
  3. Long time AATC friends, Republican State Senate candidates Kelly Hancock (60%) and Phil King (unopposed).
  4. All TAA endorsed statewide candidates won.
  5. All NAA endorsed congressional candidates won in Tarrant County:  Granger (59%); Ellzey (unopposed); Van Duyne (62%); Williams (unopposed); Veasey (73%).
  6. Republican statewide candidates won in Tarrant County – vote percentages in Tarrant County:  Abbott (51%); Patrick (49.72%); Paxton (49.65%), Hegar (53%); Buckingham (53%); Miller (53%); and Christian (52%).
  7. AATC PAC supported Republican candidates Tim O’Hare (County Judge), Mary Louise Nicholson (County Clerk), Manny Ramirez (County Commissioner), and Justices of the Peace Mary Tom Curnutt and Chris Gregory all won!!
  8. Southeast Tarrant County (Mansfield and Grand Prairie) voters reaffirmed the 2020 election shift towards Democrat dominance   

Special thanks to Nicole Zaitoon (AATC Government Affairs Committee Chair); the AATC Government Affairs Committee; AATC PAC Trustees (Patty Utley, Cayce coon, Bryan Downer, Sarah turner, Becca Brown, Cindi Scoggins, & Candy Maxey);  and AATC members that met with these candidates during this election cycle. 

To view Tarrant County election results, go to:

Below are AATC, TAA, and NAA PAC endorsed candidates’ results:


U.S. House District 6:      Jake Ellzey (R)

U.S. House District 12:    Kay Granger (R)

U.S. House District 24:    Beth Van Dyne (R)

U.S. House District 25:    Roger Williams (R)

U.S. House District 26:    Michael Burgess (R)

U.S. House District 33:    Marc Veasey (D)


Governor                           Greg Abbott (R)

Lt. Governor                     Dan Patrick (R)

Land Comm                       Dawn Buckingham (R)

Comptroller                      Glenn Hegar (R)

Attn. General                   Ken Paxton (R)


District 9:                             Kelly Hancock (R)

District 10                            Phil King (R)


District 58:                           DeWayne Burns (R)

District 60:                           Glenn Rogers (R)

District 90:                           Ramon Romero (D)

District 91:                           Stephanie Klick (R)*

District 92                            Salman Bhojani (D)

District 94:                           Tony Tinderholt (R)

District 95:                           Nicole Collier (D)

District 96:                           David Cook (R)

District 97:                           Craig Goldman (R)*

District 98:                           Gio Capriglione (R)

District 99:                           Charlie Geren (R)

District 101:                        Chris Turner (D)

*AATC Member



County Judge                     Tim O’Hare (R)

County Clerk                      Mary Louise Nicholson (R)

Commissioner P4             Manny Ramirez (R)



Precinct 1:                           Ralph Swearingin (R)

Precinct 2:                           Mary Tom Curnutt (R)

Precinct 3:                           Bill Brandt (R)

Precinct 4:                           Chris Gregory (R)

Precinct 5:                           Sergio DeLeon (D)

Precinct 6:                           Jason Charbonnet (R)

Precinct 8:                           Lisa Woodard (D)




Commissioner P4             Andy Nguyen (R)


Precinct 7:                           Matt Hayes (R)

 FORT WORTH SHORT-TERM RENTALS -  After months of delays, The Fort Worth City Council is expected to vote on a short-term rental (defined as a lease less than 30 days) ordinance in November.  AATC members and staff have met with Mayor Parker, every member of the city council, and senior city staff  to advocate our industry position that any new ordinances or zoning requirements do not adversely impact AATC members.  AATC strongly believes that all multifamily properties should be allowed to offer short-term rentals (if they so choose) with minimum regulatory impact:  registration and payment of 9% Hotel Occupancy Tax (3% to state—6% to city of Fort Worth).  AATC opposes any additional restrictions or regulations on multifamily owner/operators.

STATE SENATOR-ELECT  KELLY HANCOCK (R-SD9) – AATC President Patty Utley along with AATC Past President Mike Clark, TAA staff members Chris Newton and Kyle Jackson, AATC members Pierre Rouly, Tina White, staff member Perry Pillow attended a joint AATC-TAA fundraiser for long-time AATC friend, State Senator Kelly Hancock R – SD9) on October 11 at Hugh and Susan Cobb’s home.  Special thanks to Hugh and Susan for opening their home to us.  Senator Hancock has been an amazing champion for limited-government and pro-business policies during his tenure in the Texas legislature. Senate district nine encompasses more than two-thirds of Tarrant County and includes more than 910,000 Texans. 

THANK YOU - FALL GOLF & MURDER MYSTRY – Thank you to everyone that participated and sponsored our AATC Fall Golf Classic and Murder Mystery AATC PAC fundraisers.  Because of your efforts we raised more than $60,000 for AATC PAC. Big shout out to Golf Committee Chair John Brandes (BFS Supply) and the AATC Golf Committee.  Also, big shout outs to Murder Mystery Co-Chairs Christina Fouts (Westdale) and Bob Duff (Valet Waste) and all the Murder Mystery Team captains.

For additional information on AATCs advocacy initiatives, go to or reach out to the association’s director of government affairs, Perry Pillow at